The Geo Payees feature saves the location you're in when you enter a transaction on a mobile device. That way, the next time you're in that location, YNAB saves you time by filling in the payee – as well as the category and account you chose last time.

___________________________________________________________

Enable Geo Payees

To use Geo Payees, you'll need to authorize YNAB to use location information:

iOS

Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad and follow these steps:
 - Scroll down and tap on Privacy.
 - Select Location Services (at the very top).
 - Make sure Location Services is toggled on/green.
 - Then, scroll down to "YNAB" in the list and choose While Using the App.

Android

Go to Settings > Location to turn on the Location feature.

To enable location usage for the YNAB app, go to Settings > Apps > YNAB > Permissions and toggle Location on.

___________________________________________________________

Forget a Saved Location

When Geo Payees is enabled, each time you enter a transaction using the mobile app, you can choose whether or not to save the location of that payee.

Let’s say you’re at home, and you don’t want to save the location – tap the "x" in the blue globe icon.

If a payee ever pops up and it's associated with the wrong location, tap on it to open your payee list. At the top you'll see a "Near You" section where you can choose to "Forget Location" for that payee.

iOS

In the Near You section, swipe left on a payee and then tap Forget Location.

Android

In the Near You section, tap Edit and then Forget Location.

___________________________________________________________

Disable Geo Payees

If you'd prefer to select the payee each time you enter a transaction, follow these instructions to disable Geo Payees:

iOS

Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad and follow these steps:
 - Scroll down and tap on Privacy.
 - Select Location Services (at the very top).
 - Make sure Location Services is toggled on/green.
 - Then, scroll down to "YNAB" in the list and change it to Never.

Android

 - Navigate to your Settings Menu and select Apps.
 - Tap on YNAB.
 - Tap Permissions: Location.
 - Toggle the Location setting off.

Did this answer your question?